HERITAGE

HISTORY

THE BIRTH OF L’ORATOIRE DES PAPES

In the Rhône Valley, the history of L’Oratoire des Papes dates back to the 19th century, the year 1880 to be precise, when Edouard Amouroux was bequeathed by marriage a beautiful vine parcel situated within a Clos. It was named after the oratory located just beneath the parcel in question. Built in the 18th century, this small chapel was dedicated to Saint-Marc, patron saint of winemakers and protector of the vine against bad weather, and remains a popular destination for annual religious processions this day.

Later, in 1926 his son Léonce Amouroux created the Maison Amouroux and, on July 30, a notarial act was filed to formalize the trademark registration and the label design.

Therefore, L’Oratoire des Papes is one of the most iconic brand and label in the whole of the appellation and well known throughout the world.

Vallée du Rhône - Heritage - Clos de l'oratoire des papes - histoire 3
Vallée du Rhône - Heritage - Clos de l'oratoire des papes - signature

SIGNATURE

AN ICONIC BOTTLE LABEL

This ‘handmade’ label was designed during the Art Deco artistic movement and has become a timeless and classic work of art.

The label features strong symbols such as the vault depicted here to symbolize the papal crown worn by the popes in the 14th century. This emblem is now omnipresent in the Priory vinification premises used for L’Oratoire des Papes. On the lefthand side of the label is an image of the oratory dedicated to Saint Marc which is still present physically in the vineyards surrounding the Priory. At the top of the label is another historical religious emblem in the form of the medal of Pope Benedictus XIII.

It is now a signature in its own right and well known throughout the world by wine lovers and collectors alike.

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup

Available Coupon

X
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.